Be A Champion!

Annual Celebration and Award Presentation

The North Shore Community College Foundation honors exceptional leaders who are dedicated to excellence in higher education and career pathways for residents of the North Shore and beyond with the annual presentation of the NSCC Champions Awards for philanthropy and volunteerism, community impact, public service and advocacy, and transformation and empowerment.

Champions for NSCC honorees and presenters

The Sixth Annual Champions for North Shore Community College Celebration was held at the Boston Marriott Peabody on Thursday, April 27th, featuring the presentation of the NSCC Champions Awards to the following:

Richard Yagjian, NSCC Class of ‘68 - in recognition of philanthropy and volunteerism

Dr. Patrick Tutwiler, Secretary of Education, Commonwealth of MA and Debra Ruggiero, Interim Superintendent, Lynn Public Schools - in recognition of community impact

The Open Door - in recognition of public service and advocacy

And introducing the inaugural Rising Champion Award in recognition of transformation and empowerment, presented to: Nathaniel Montero, NSCC Class of '16

Their common vision is that higher education is an essential pathway of promise, opportunity, and a new beginning. Through the gifts of their time, talents and treasure, they are making sure this pathway remains strong and accessible to each and every resident in our community.

For more information, contact Nicole Marcotte, Director of Development, at 978-739-5527 or

Champions 2023 Program Book

Presenting Sponsors



Eastern Bank


Caleb Loring Jr. and Rosemary M. Loring Charitable Gift Fund


North Shore Bank


Old Neighborhood Foods


Platinum Sponsor

James Horrocks

Gold Sponsors

Hunt's Photo and Video Logo


NSCC Board of Trustees

Solimine Funeral Homes

Silver Sponsors

Joel and Mary Abramson

Boys and Girls Club of Lynn Logo


Essex County Community Foundation


M&T Bank Logo


Salem Five


Bronze Sponsors

William and Linda Heineman


McLane Middleton Logo


Mayor Jarod C. Nicholson and the Lynn City Council


Northeast Arc


NSCC Alumni Association


Women's Fund of Essex County Logo


Salem State University logo


St. Jean's Credit Union


Honorary Host Committee

Karen E. Andreas, North Shore Chamber of Commerce

Sandra Carriker, NSCC Professors Emeriti

Matthew DiVirgilio, DiVirgilio Insurance

Scott Farber, Hunt’s Photo and Video

Beth Francis, Essex County Community Foundation

Shannon Gardner, Lynn Public Schools

Stephanie Lee, Verizon

Caleb Loring III, The 1911 Trust Company

Lesley Peters ‘97, NSCC Alumni Association

Wendy Roworth, The Women’s Fund of Essex County

Magnolia Contreras and David J. Solimine, Jr., Solimine Funeral Homes

Nancy Stager, Eastern Bank

Kevin M. Tierney Sr., North Shore Bank

Jared Yagjian, DiVirgilio Insurance


In Recognition of Philanthropy and Volunteerism
  • Anh Dao Tran-Moseman, NSCC Trustee and Class of '88 (2021)
  • Dr. Sheldon Brown, NSCC Professor Emeritus (2020)
  • The Bertolon Family – Donna Bertolon, Class of 1972, Henry Bertolon and their children (2019)
  • Caleb Loring III and The Loring Family (2018)
  • R.T. Paine and Barbara Metcalf (2017)
In Recognition of Community Impact
  • Essex County Community Foundation (2021)
  • The Women’s Fund of Essex County (2020)
  • The Solimine Family – David J. Solimine Sr., David J. Solimine Jr., and Joel C. Solimine (2019)
  • Mary W. Sarris, Executive Director, MassHire North Shore Workforce Board (2018)
  • Eastern Bank (2017)
In Recognition of Public Service and Advocacy
  • The Honorable Joan B. Lovely, Senator, Commonwealth of MA (2021)
  • Benjamin Patton, Patton Veterans Project (2020)
  • Rosalin Acosta, Secretary of Labor and Workforce Development in MA (2019)
  • Dr. Catherine C. Latham, Superintendent, Lynn Public Schools from 2009 – 2018 (2018)
  • The Honorable Thomas M. McGee, Mayor of Lynn, Former MA State Senator (2017)
Image of campus

Ready to Begin?

Apply Info Connect